Marcus Connolly is a Boy, Interrupted in the beautifully chaotic noise-pop rock anthem. The track (Produced by the Manchester based pop producer Mattu) features noisy and abrasive rock instrumentation and explores the themes of mental health and struggling to adjust to the world at hand. It is a harsh contrast to the hyper pop sound previously associated with the artist and a further step in a change of direction after the last single "Drippin" and his first project "Digital Dreamland".


Marcus shares his struggle with feeling present and asks “why does the world go on spinning?” a reference to the 1962 pop song "The end of the world" by Skeeter Davis. while also referencing the 1999 cult classic “Girl, Interrupted”. After releasing his bubblegum pop sounding first project which tells a story of escapism from the real world, he's now faced with some harsh realities that the world isn't as friendly as it is in the movies.


Inspired by the noisy rock of the 00's punk pop movement mixed with some electronic and glitchier elements the song plays like something you'd find on myspace in 2007 and with the intent of doing so.

Release Date: April 10th


After the debut music video in February. Boy, Interrupted is accompanied with the self shot & edited lyric video that matches the chaotic sound of the song.


Drippin Press Shot 2 (LQ).png
Press Shot 3 (LQ) Shot By Eve Broadbent.
Press Shot 4 (LQ) Shot By Eve Broadbent.
Drippin Press Shot 1 (LQ).png

Marcus Connolly began making a name for himself on the internet from vlogs and videos on experiences in his life during late 2016. He developed a small online following but it wasn't until 2018 when he decided to branch out from video content and began to work on music that he found his artistic voice . In 2019 after releasing 3 singles Marcus was offered a distribution deal from AWAL a new age distributor under the record label Kobalt Music who he now distributes music under however still remaining independent. Then after a stream of singles and shows the self made pop artist and graphic designer released his first mixtape “Digital Dreamland” on November 15th 2019 loosely centred around a break up and exploring themes of escapism.

The project proved as a great starting point for the then 20 year old and landed him on some of Spotify's biggest editorial playlists such as 'All New, All Now' and 'Hot New Bands'.

It also lead him to become one of the faces of the up and coming online queer music movement. Marcus has been open about being pansexual online and in an interview with 'aAh Magazine' on 'Navigating the Music Industry in 2020 as an Independent Artist' he talked about what it means to him being part of the queer music space. 

Now he's back, with a new sound and visual landscape. Collaborating with some of the freshest upcoming talent his next project titled 'Fresh Hell' (yet to be given a release date) explores what it means to be young and reckless in a world that's almost as crazy as you feel.

  • Facebook
  • Twitter
  • YouTube
  • Tumblr Social Icon
  • Instagram